The Iranian History 441 AD


Yazdgerd 2. Declares War On Roman Empire

Mar, 25, 441 AD

Anahita Temple Stairs2 years after disappearance of his father Bahram V (Goor), Yazdgerd 2 became king and on March, 25, 441 declared war on Rome because Romans were piling up in northern parts of Iran and were inciting Armenians for revolt against Sassanid government. Yazdgerd 2 was a Zoroastrian zealot that was under influence of the priests. This characteristics of Yazdgerd 2 caused him to show intolerance in Armenia where Christianity was being practiced and he got involved in many battles in this area for a long time. Soon after this war declaration, the Roman Empire pulled out troops from Iran territory and there came peace. Peace with Romans gave Yazdgerd 2 to go after Heptalites that were settling near to the northeast borders. (Updated: Aug, 21, 2010)

Neishabour Becomes Capital

Aug, 21, 441 AD

Famous Iranian philosopher, mathematician, poet; Omar Khayyam's mausoleum located in a garden belonging to himself in NeishabourAfter making a peace deal with the Romans, Yazdgerd 2 decided to announce the city of Neishabour which was founded by Shapour I, the new capital. Iran used to have more than one capital at the same time because of vastness of the empire. The reason behind Yazdgerd's decision was creating a center in greater Khorasan to counter the nomadic Heptalites who used every opportunity to settle inside Iran. The cities of Marv, Samarkand, Balkh, and Bukhara were other important cities of the greater Khorasan. Located along the famous Silk Road, Neishabour has supplied the world with turquoise for at least two millennia. In the year 1000, Neishabour was among the 10 largest cities on earth until Chengiz Khan ordered massacre of all residents in 1221. Neishabour has been destroyed and rebuilt more times than any other city in history.
Yazdgerd 2 succeeded in repelling the Heptalites who then migrated to Europe and formed Hungary. (Updated: Aug, 22, 2008)

English-Persian Glossary
  • Christianity : مسيحيت Media_Files
  • Zoroastrian : زرتشتي Media_Files
  • Yazdgerd 2 : يزدگرد دوم
  • Neishabour : نيشابور(Neyshabour, Neishapour,Nishapur) نيشابور، نشابور. نشاپور. نيشاپور. نيسابور. نيوشاهپور Media_Files
  • Silk Road : راه ابريشم
  • Samarkand : سمرقند(Samarghand,Samarqand,Semerkent) Media_Files
  • Sassanid : ساساني(Sasanian) Media_Files
  • Bahram V : بهرام پنجم
  • Khorasan : خراسان(Khorassan) Media_Files
  • Yazdgerd : يزدگرد(Izdekerti,Yazdegerd,Isdigerd) Media_Files
  • Hungary : مجارستان Media_Files
  • Bukhara : بخارا(Bokhara)
  • Armenia : ارمنستان(Armanestan,Armenistan) Media_Files
  • Shapour : شاپور(Shapur,Shahpur) شاهپور Media_Files
  • Roman : رومي Media_Files
  • Balkh : بلخ(Bactra,Bactria,Bakhtar) باختر،تُخارستان،طُخارستان Media_Files
  • Khan : خان Media_Files
  • Rome : رم روم Media_Files
  • Marv : مرو(Merv) Media_Files
  • Goor : گور
  • Iran : ايران Media_Files

Latest Additions to Iranian History Chronicle: